DOVER, Del. – With the amount of information on the coronavirus frequently changing and causing confusion, Delaware State Police are providing some information in hopes to clarify some questions regarding current travel restrictions.
The seventh modification of the State of Emergency declaration states those traveling to Delaware from out-of-state must self-quarantine for 14 days. This order authorizes any Delaware law enforcement officer to stop a vehicle driving in the state simply because it is displaying out-of-state tags. The officer may ask limited questions related to the driver’s recent travel before informing the driver that they are required to self-quarantine for 14 days while in Delaware or immediately return to their home state. However, we’re told this does not apply to vehicles traveling on I-95, I-295, or I-495.
Within this modification, there are limited exceptions that allow for out-of-state persons to enter Delaware without being required to self-quarantine, including:
- Motorists may pass through Delaware en-route to other states
- Motorists may leave their home state to work for a Delaware designated essential business, to care for a family member in Delaware, or for healthcare reasons in Delaware
- Out-of-state employees who work for an essential business in Delaware but could otherwise do their work from home should remain home
Troopers will be conducting patrols on non-interstate roadways which have been identified as having a large volume of out-of-state travelers, in an effort to enforce the Governor’s declaration. The Delaware Department of Justice and Delaware law enforcement agencies are empowered to respond, inspect, and react accordingly. Visitors who fail to self-quarantine could face criminal charges.
Officials want to remind citizens that now is not the time to visit Delaware. The goal is to limit a surge in COVID-19 cases that would overwhelm Delaware’s hospital system.