Sussex County swears in new members, selects officers and legal staff for 2019

Popular News

Maryland family sues over man's death at Delaware junk yard

GEORGETOWN, Del. (AP) — The family of a Maryland man crushed by a van in a Delaware junk yard is...

Murder warrant issued in Maryland woman's death

FEDERALSBURG, Md. (AP) — Maryland State Police are looking for a man that they've formally accused...

Commission seeks $3.8B funding increase for Maryland schools

ANNAPOLIS, Md. (AP) — A blue-ribbon panel calling for a sizeable increase in Maryland public...

Sussex County swears in new members, selects officers and legal staff for 2019

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

(Georgetown, DE - Jan 8, 2019)  The New Year is bringing a new look and new leadership to the Sussex County Council.

November election winners took office on Tuesday, Jan. 8, 2019, during a swearing-in ceremony held in County Council chambers on The Circle in Georgetown. Douglas B. Hudson of Dagsboro was sworn in as the new 4th district Council member, replacing retiring longtime member George B. Cole, and John L. Rieley of Millsboro was sworn in to the 5th district seat, replacing one-term member Robert B. Arlett, who did not seek re-election. Row officers for Register of Wills, Recorder of Deeds and Sheriff were sworn in to new terms, as well.

Following the swearing-in ceremony, County Council selected officers for the new year, naming Councilman Michael H. Vincent of Seaford to another year as president, while choosing Councilman Irwin G. Burton III of Lewes as vice president.

It is customary for council at the first meeting of each year to elect officers and appoint legal staff. As Council president, Mr. Vincent will continue to preside over all council meetings in 2019, with Mr. Burton substituting as the presiding officer anytime Mr. Vincent is unable to attend.

Council also approved J. Everett Moore Jr. to re-appointment as County Attorney. Mr. Moore serves at the pleasure of the County Council as the elected body’s chief counsel.

Meantime, staff from the Moore & Rutt and Parkowski, Guerke & Swayze law firms will represent the Board of Adjustment and Planning & Zoning Commission respectively as assistant county attorneys.


Source: Press Release